RSS

Daily Archives: June 3, 2012

Learning how to paint with a palette knife – Day 155

Today I drove to Oshawa for a workshop on how to paint with a palette knife. It was taught by Sandy Mackenzie Goguen in her home studio and it was so much fun! There were three of us and we learned how to use the palette knife to create different effects. We used acrylic paint on board and worked on two paintings based on photographs we had brought.

It took a while for me to get the hang of it. It’s a lot different than using a brush and I found it a little awkward. Once I got the ‘flicking’ motion though it was much easier. I was also worrying about detail too much…..once I decided to just let go and not think, it just hummed along.

I finished one painting and made good progress on a second one. I will definitely be doing more of this!

20120603-193750.jpg

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in Art

 

Tags: , , , , ,