RSS

Daily Archives: June 28, 2012

Two paintings in The Lindsay Gallery Juried Show – Day 181

Tonight was the opening reception for the Juried Show at The Lindsay Gallery. I had dropped off two of my paintings on Monday – Always Room for Friends (aka the Muskoka Chairs) and the Split Rail Fence – and found out Tuesday that both had been accepted for the show!

They received 91 submissions and the juror chose 45 for the show. The juror, Linda Jansma, is the curator of the McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa.

This was her statement regarding the exhibition:

“I have had the privilege to jury numerous exhibitions – I wish I could say that it gets easier with time. It doesn’t. This community has an enormous amount of talent and that is obvious in the diversity and range of work that was submitted.

There is a real sense of place in many of the pieces – local, national, international and of the imagination. Skill in execution and presentation is also very important and many of the artists have obviously taken great care in both of those.

Art serves to reflect society and speak to our present concerns and interests. The work in this juried exhibition will no doubt speak to many.”

I am thrilled that both paintings I submitted were chosen!
This is me by “Always Room for Friends”

20120628-220552.jpg

And here I am with the President of the Gallery, Richard Danziger in front of the Split Rail Fence.

20120628-220605.jpg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2012 in Art

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,