RSS

Time for a break – Day 170

18 Jun

This morning I woke up all full of energy and I worked on the fall palette knife painting. I have to say, for a little painting this is taking some time! Partly it’s because I’m not quite sure what to do when, so it’s a learning experience as well.

I started the set up for my Etsy shop this morning as well and I’m plugging through it. There’s so much to think about! Your user name, your store name, a banner, a logo. What photos to use, a description to write…what are your policies on payments and returns? It exhausts me just thinking about it.

That’s precisely why, when I got home from work, I got into shorts and a t-shirt and went outside to the backyard, which we commonly refer to as the ‘oasis’. Our rain barrels had filled up overnight so I filled up the watering can so I could water the hanging baskets that are under the overhang. I puttered around a bit….checked out the pond….pulled some weeds. Then I poured a glass of wine, grabbed my book and sat out and read. Ahhhhhhhhhhh.

I think that it’s ok to take a break every so often. It helps you to relax and refocus which means when you get back to work you are better able to zero in on the root of the problem. (Thank you subconscious!)

Here are some pics of our oasis:

20120618-210842.jpg

20120618-210852.jpg

20120618-210901.jpg

20120618-210909.jpg

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Art

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Time for a break – Day 170

  1. Katherine

    June 19, 2012 at 6:14 am

    That is a gorgeous garden! I think you deserve a few hours sitting out there on a lawn chair and just enjoying the blossoms and the fresh air!

     
    • bstonehouse

      June 19, 2012 at 6:29 pm

      That’s exactly what I thought!

       
  2. MoniqueE.

    June 19, 2012 at 8:07 am

    Your backyard is truly an oasis…so pretty! Congrats on getting up on Etsy. I think you’ll do well. Your work is so much better than what I’ve seen on there.

     
    • bstonehouse

      June 19, 2012 at 6:30 pm

      Thank you! It’s quite a bit of work to get the Etsy shop up but it shouldn’t be too bad to maintain once I get there!

       

Leave a comment